MENU

txservice.org is privately owned and is neither operated by, nor affiliated with, any government agency.


Renewing Your Texas Driver License

Obtaining a drivers license in Texas is a privilege. Therefore, it is important that you renew this important credential at the appropriate time. You should renew your expiring license quickly to maintain your driving privileges. If you do not renew by the expiration date but continue to drive, you can face penalties for operating a car with an expired license. You must renew online, by phone, by mail or in person and provide the renewal fee. Phone and online renewal have specific eligibility requirements. You must visit the DPS every 12 years to take a new picture and update your fingerprints and signature.

When to Renew Your Drivers License

If you are under the age of 18, your license will be valid until you turn 18 years of age, whereas for individuals who are 85 years of age  or older, the license expires on the second birthday after the application date. You may expect to receive a notice for renewal six weeks before your license expires.

In Texas, you can apply for a renewal up to a year before your drivers license expiration date and you can do so online, by mail, by phone or in person.

Online or By-Phone Renewal

To be eligible for this type of drivers license renewal, you must:

  • Have renewed your drivers license in person the last time.
  • Have a license that expires within a year.
  • Have a license that has not expired more than two years ago.
  • Not hold a commercial driver’s license.
  • Not have any new medical conditions (since your last renewal) that affect your driving ability.
  • Have a valid drivers license (that has not been suspended, revoked or cancelled).
  • Have not outstanding tickets or warrants.
  • Be a resident of Texas.
  • Have your Social Security number (SSN) on file with the Department of Public Safety (DPS).

If you comply with all aforementioned conditions, go to the Texas Department of Public Safety website and provide:

  • Your date of birth.
  • You audit number.
  • The last four digits on your Social Security Number (SSN).
  • Your Texas driver license number.
  • Pay the renewal fee ($6 for under 18 years of age, $25 if you are between the ages of 18 to 84, and $9 if you are  85 or  older).

The same eligibility requirements (mentioned above) apply if you would like to renew your drivers license by phone.

Those that meet the criteria can dial: 1-866-357-3639 and:

  • Provide your drivers license
  • Provide audit number.
  • Provide date of birth.
  • Provide the last four digits on their SSN.
  • Provide payment for renewal fee via credit card.

Note: You will be required to pay an additional $1 for online and telephone renewals.

By-Mail Renewal

You are eligible to renew your Texas drivers license if you meet the criteria mentioned in the Online renewal section.

If this is the case, the Texas DPS will notify you (by mail, online or by phone) that it is time to commence renewal procedures.

To renew your drivers license by mail, you will need to submit:

  • Proof of SSN
  • Eye test results on DL63 form (CDL-2 form if applying for a class A or B non-commercial driver’s license)
  • A Scan card (LI 50) if renewing your license from out of state country.
  • Applicable fee by way of a check or money order made payable to Texas Department of Public Safety.
  • Your full name, Texas drivers license and current mailing address to license.issuance@txdps.state.tx.us or call 512-424-2600.

Once you’ve gathered all the necessary paperwork, mail it to the Texas Department of Public Safety, P. O. Box 15999, Austin Texas-78761-5999 and expect to receive the renewed license in 4 to 6 weeks.

In-Person Renewal

Texas law requires you to renew your drivers license in person if you are not eligible to do so online, by phone, or by mail, or if you are:

  • 79 years of age or older.
  • A non-US citizen living in Texas temporarily.
  • Under 18 years old or you are renewing a provisional driving license.

To renew your Texas drivers license in person, you will need to visit your local Texas DPS office and complete an Application For Renewal/Replacement/Change Of A Texas Driver License or Identification Card (Form DL-43), submit your current driver’s license, have your photo taken and pay the renewal fee (see the list in the Online section).

Additionally, you may need to verify your identity by providing one primary document (TX driver’s license, current US passport, US citizenship certificate), two secondary documents (birth certificate, Court order that includes your name and birth date) or one secondary document and two supporting documents such as a Social Security card, W-2 form and out-of-state drivers license or ID.

It might also interest you: