If you change your legal name after marriage, divorce or a court order, you must inform the Texas Department of Public Safety and the DMV of the changes. One important document to change is your drivers license issued by the DPS. Per state laws, you must apply for your drivers license name change no more than 30 days after the change. If you to change your name on driving documents, you must be sure to bring in proof of the change to the DPS office. Without updated credentials, you may have difficulty proving your identity if you use your drivers license as a primary form of identification.
Thankfully, the steps to change names with the Social Security Administration are easy to follow. Simply locate a branch in your area and make sure to bring documentation that confirms your name change. Acceptable documents include the following:
In certain instances, you may also be required to present documentation that proves your identity, such as your current Texas driving license. You may also need to show proof of your legal status in the United States.
Keep in mind that only original documents are accepted. It is important to allow up to 72 hours for the Social Security Administration to process your name change request. Thereafter, you will be able to visit your nearest DPS office to update your drivers license information. One of the final steps of the process will require you to fill out a Social Security Administration application and turn it to an official SSA representative.
When completing the application, make sure to include your signature in order for your form to be considered valid. You will also need to include personal information, such as your Social Security Number, your place of birth, and your current legal status in the country.
The state of Texas allows drivers to update the name on their driving license in only one particular way: in person. In order to get started on this official name change process, you must visit your nearest TX Department of Public Safety office and have ready the following documentation:
Take note only original documents are accepted. No photocopies will be reviewed. By law, the state of Texas requires residents to change the name on their drivers license within 30 days.