MENU

txservice.org is privately owned and is neither operated by, nor affiliated with, any government agency.


Renew Texas Car Registration

Texas law requires residents to renew their vehicle registration annually to continue driving on public roadways across the state. Failure to renew car registration on time will make motorists vulnerable to fines and penalties, so it is important that drivers begin renewal procedures as soon as they receive a renewal notice from the Texas DMV. The Texas DMV mails out registration renewal letters to all drivers prior to vehicle registration expiration. Motorists may renew online, in person or by mail no more than 90 days in advance of the expiration date. Renewal fees and payment methods can vary by location.

How to Renew Car Registration in Texas

  • Registration receipt from the previous year.
  • Texas license plate number, or
  • Vehicle Identification Number (VIN)

To prevent this from happening again, ask your local County Tax Office to verify your correct mailing address.

Although you can drive your vehicle after the registration expires for up to five working days, once this time period has ended, you may be subject to a citation of up to $200.

Note: You can also receive your car registration renewal notice via email by signing up for the free eReminder service.

Renewing Car Registration in Person in Texas

To renew expired car registration in person, visit your local County Tax Office and bring the following:

  • A registration renewal notice
  • Proof of current liability insurance to your county or an approved substation

In addition, you will need to pay a renewal fee with cash, check or a credit/debit card (MasterCard, Visa, American Express, etc.).

Renew Car Registration by Mail in Texas

If you decide to complete your car registration renewal by mail, submit the following to your County Tax Office:

  • Proof of your car insurance
  • The renewal notice you received in the mail
  • Payment for any fees

Renew Car Registration Online in Texas

Many TX residents choose to renew car registration online simply for convenience purposes. To do this, visit the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles (TxDMV) official online services website and:

  • Enter your license plate number.
  • Enter the last four digits of your Vehicle Identification Number (VIN).
  • Pay the renewal fees with a credit/debit card (MasterCard, Visa, American Express, etc.).

Texas Car Registration Renewal Fees

All residents who own a car or lighter pickup truck are subject to paying a base registration fee of $50.75 (subject to vary). If you are a Texas resident who owns motor vehicles that weigh 6,001 to 10,000 pounds (including heavier pickup truck) will be required to pay a $54 base registration fee, whereas owners of heavy vehicles (heavy-duty pickups, motor homes and commercial trucks) will find their registration fees fall into seven weight classifications between 6,001 pounds and 80,000 pounds.

Owners of trailers (up to 6,000 pounds), mopeds or motorcycles are required to pay a $45 and $30 base registration fees, respectively.

Note: In Texas, the total registration fees include the base registration fee, plus a $1 automation fee and $1 for the Department of Public Safety.

It might also interest you: